UAS Campus Advisory Councils

The University of Alaska Board of Regents established campus councils for each of the University of Alaska Southeast campuses in Juneau, Ketchikan and Sitka, in recognition of the importance of citizen involvement in the planning and implementation of higher education programs and services for the state of Alaska and for the Southeast region.  The advisory councils are charged with offering guidance to the Chancellor and the campus leadership, and serving as a link between UAS’s public constituencies and the Board of Regents.

Juneau Campus Advisory Council
Sander Schjivens (CHAIR), CEO, Wostmann & Associates
Bruce Botelho, Former Juneau Mayor, Community Advisor
Ben Brown, Juneau Chamber of Commerce
David D'Amore, US Forest Service, Pacific NW Research Station
Nancy DeCherney, Executive Director, Juneau Arts & Humanities Council
Capt. Darwin Jensen, Commander, U.S. Coast Guard, 17th District, Juneau
Brian Holst, Executive Director, Juneau Economic Development Council, Community Advisor
Joe Nelson, Chair, Sealaska
Bill Legere, KTOO President and General Manager
Bridget Weiss, Superintendent, Juneau School District
Ted Wilson, Juneau School District
Deedie Sorensen, Liaison, Juneau School Board
Richard Peterson, President, Central Council Tlingit& Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska
Mike Satre, Government & Community Relations Manager, Hecla/Greens Creek
Cathy Muñoz, Deputy Commissioner, State of Alaska, Dept. of Labor & Workforce Development
Representative, Bartlett Regional Hospital
Gregory Smith, Assembly Liaison, City and Borough of Juneau Assembly

Karen Carey, UAS Chancellor
Dale Anderson, University of Alaska Regent
Robbie Stell, President, UAS Alumni Association
President, UAS Student Government
Jennifer Ward, President, UAS Faculty Senate

Ketchikan Campus Advisory Council
Shana Criscola, PeaceHealth
Chelsea Goucher, Foraged and Found
Grant Echohawk, Ketchikan Gateway Borough Assembly
Jeremy Bynum, Ketchikan Gateway Borough Assembly
Lalette Kistler. Ketchikan City Council
Arthur Dehnz, U.S. Coast Guard
Cameron Cage, Ketchikan Indian Community
Bergan Wieler, Vigor Alaska

Maren Haavig, UAS Provost
Karen Carey, UAS Chancellor
Priscilla Schulte, Ketchikan Campus Director
Ketchikan Gateway Borough Superintendent

Sitka Campus Advisory Council
Tristan Guevin, (CHAIR) Sitka Tribe of Alaska
Garry White, Sitka Economic Development Association
Lisa Busch, Sitka Sound Science Center, Executive Director
Bob Sam, Sitka Tribe of Alaska, Tribal Council Representative
Brian McLaughlin, USCG Commander
John Leach, City of Sitka, Administrator
Bonnie Richards, Retired, Business
Rachel Roy, Greater Sitka Chamber of Commerce, Executive Director
Roger Schmidt, Sitka Fine Arts Camp, Executive Director
Fran Schwuchow, Alaska Employment Services
John Stein, Retired, Business
Janelle Vanasse, Superintendent, Mt. Edgecumbe High School

Karen Carey, UAS Chancellor
Paul Kraft, Sitka Campus Director
Frank Hauser, Sitka School District, Superintendent